Points of Interest
St. Mary's Medieval Parish Church, Pierowall Village - dating back to the 13th century.
Noltland Castle - A 16th century fortress. Tradition has it that there is an underground passage to the Gentlemen's Cave on the west side of the island.
The Gentleman's Cave - The cave was used by a number of Orkney lairds as refuge due to them supporting the 1745 Jacobite Rebellion. It is advised not to enter the cave unless with a qualified guide.
Links of Noltland, Prehistoric settlement & wildflowers - an extensive area of prehistoric settlement dating back to around 3000 BC. Sand dunes support Curved Sedge, Eyebright, Lyme Grass, Felwort and Cowslip.
Noup Head Lighthouse - was constructed in 1898. It was the first lighthouse to use the system of mercury flotation in the revolving carriage. It was made automatic in 1964.
Noup Head RSPB Reserve - Almost 5 miles of cliffs with the northernmost 3 km are a RSPB reserve for breeding seabirds.
Heritage Centre - is situated next to the Pierowall Hotel, and a permanent exhibition of Westray's history, flora and fauna can be seen, although there are limited opening hours.
Knowe o'Burrisae Broch - a large mound containing a broch tower which has been partly destroyed by the sea. The entrance to a mural cell or passage can be seen.
Tuquoy Cross Kirk Medieval Parish Church and Norse Settlement - probably built by the Viking Haflidi of Tuquoy, a leading figure during the mid-twelfth century. Recent excavations of a nearby Norse settlement reflects the importance on Westray in 12th 13th Century.
The Castle o`Burrian and Stanger Head - an ideal place to watch puffins and nesting Fulmars (who sit for 51 days on their one egg each year).